What happens to my data after the licence expires?

July 15, 2020

After your licence expires, ATLAS.ti turns into a  trial version. This means you can still open your project and read the data, but you cannot make changes to your project and save them – assuming that your project exceeds the limits of the trial version. You can also still analyse your data and create reports.

The limits of the trial version currently are:

  • 10 documents
  • 100 quotations
  • 50 codes

As soon as you are over this limit, you cannot save your project any more with a trial licence.

When you open a project in the trial version that exceeds the trial limits, you will be notified. This however does not mean that you cannot open the project. A lot of users stop when they see the message (and don’t read it properly). The message only tells you that the project exceeds the limits and that changes cannot be saved. It however does not state that you cannot open the project :-).

So, your data are save, also after your licence expires. We do however recommend that you export a project bundle before your licence expires, so that you always have a backup copy of your project. This is how you do it:

In the Windows version, you select File >  Export. Then select the project bundle option from the next page.

In the Mac version, you select Project > Export > Project.

 

 

Share this Article

×
Win a brand-new iPad
Have you participated in any form of a paid course (from any provider) to learn more about ATLAS.ti at any point in your life? We want to reward all your hard work, effort and trust.
Enter the raffle